skip to content | Accessibility Information

Teaching Awards 2017 – winners revealed

Celebrating excellent teaching at Manchester Metropolitan

Department of the Year winners, the Department of Health Professions

The winners of this year’s Teaching Awards were revealed at an awards ceremony on Tuesday (16 May) in The Union.

The seventh annual Teaching Awards took place in the Main Hall, which was transformed to host the ceremony.

Education Officer Luca Raimo and Vice President Cheshire Kwame Mensah hosted the night in front of an audience of more than 100 people, all gathered to celebrate excellent teaching at Manchester Metropolitan.

Vice-Chancellor Professor Malcolm Press opened the evening with a speech on how excellent teaching helps to transform lives and told the audience that this event is special because the awards are conferred by students.

A total of 11 awards were presented, including new awards for Best Undergraduate Supervisor and Best Postgraduate Supervisor. Chieko Yonezawa won the hotly contested Teacher of the Year category, and BA (Hons) Creative Writing was named as Course of the Year. The Department of the Year award was once again handed to the Department of Health Professions.

The shortlists comprised individuals, courses and departments, all nominated by students at Manchester Metropolitan. The Union received 934 online nominations last term – thank you to those who took the time to share their stories and examples of excellent teaching.

A panel comprising students, Student Officers and representatives from the University’s Centre for Excellence in Learning and Teaching judged the entries anonymously.



  • The Union Award for Outstanding Achievement – Lisa Bach (Arts and Humanities)
  • Outstanding Innovation in Teaching – Haydn Insley (Science and Engineering)
  • Outstanding Feedback – Dr Pete Dale (Cheshire campus)
  • Best Personal Tutor – David Heaton (Science and Engineering)
  • Best Undergraduate Supervisor – Dr Zoe Franklin (Cheshire campus)
  • Best Postgraduate Supervisor – Dr Sarah Crozier (Business and Law)
  • Department of the Year – Department of Health Professions (HPSC)
  • Outstanding Teaching for Employability – Dr Dyan Colclough (Arts and Humanities)
  • Outstanding Teaching for Sustainability – Sustainable Production and Consumption Module (Science and Engineering)
  • Course of the Year – BA (Hons) Creative Writing (Cheshire campus)
  • Teacher of the Year – Chieko Yonezawa (Arts and Humanities)

Well done to everyone nominated and congratulations to the winners. Thank you to The Union for hosting another fantastic awards ceremony.

Published Thursday, 18th May 2017 Bookmark and Share

Manchester Metropolitan University is one of the most extensive higher education centres in Europe with 37,000 students and more than 1,000 undergraduate, postgraduate and professional courses. The University educates and trains large numbers of legal and business professionals, scientists, engineers, teachers, health workers and creative professionals.

Manchester Met has invested £350 million in its estate and facilities during a ten-year plan to create a truly world-class campus in the heart of Manchester and in Cheshire.

The University is in the top three nationally for environmental sustainability, in the top 3% of global universities as ranked by the Times Higher Education and has an 85% research impact rated world-leading and internationally excellent.

Latest news…

Follow @manmetuni on Twitter for the latest news from MMU.