skip to content | Accessibility Information

Chaplaincy

Whatever your faith, Chaplains are here to serve all members of the University. You can meet them to talk about any matter and they can be contacted outside university hours.

The Chaplains offer:

  • Spiritual help
  • Friendship and support
  • Confidential advice
  • Prayer and study
  • Information on places of worship for all faiths.

Contacts

St Peter’s House
Revd Dr Terry Biddington
MMU Chaplaincy Convenor

Revd Jayne Prestwood

The Precinct Centre, Oxford Road
0161 275 2894
terry.biddington@manchester.ac.uk

0161 275 2894
j.prestwood@manchester.ac.uk

Mandarin speaking students
Revd Shou-Hui Chung

The Precinct Centre, Oxford Road
0161 275 2894
shou-hui.chung@manchester.ac.uk

Roman Catholic
Fr Tim Byron
Avila House, Oxford Road (opposite the University of Manchester Students’ Union Building)
0161 273 1456 info@mucc.org.uk
Muslim
Mohammed Ullah
Cavendish Prayer Room and St Peter's House, The Precinct Centre, Oxford Road
m.ullah@mmu.ac.uk
Jewish
Rabbi Ephraim Guttentag

Manchester & Central Chaplain
Chaplaincy

T: +44 781 725 0557 | E: ephraim@mychaplaincy.co.uk | W:www.mychaplaincy.co.uk
At Cheshire
Revd David Edwards

T: +161 247 3513 | M: 44 7980 011 803 |
E: D.Edwards@mmu.ac.uk
Cheshire Campus Chaplains

Other Places of Worship
GGS Sikh Temple
61 Upper Chorlton Road
Manchester, M16 7RQ
Gita Bhavan
Withington Road
Whalley Range

In the Chaplaincy Centres at St Peter’s House and Avila House (both on Oxford Road) there are libraries, common rooms and places for quiet prayer, as well as times for regular worship and events. Chaplains are always available to students and staff of any or no faith persuasion. Any contact with them is always in strict confidence.

On-Campus Facilities

In addition to the Chaplaincy centres, there are a number of multi-faith quiet rooms across the University which are available to staff and students of all faiths and none.

Crewe Campus
Monday to Friday, 8.30 am to 6.00 pm
Telephone: 0161 247 5326

Muslim Prayer Room
In addition to these multi-faith quiet rooms, there is a Muslim prayer room in Cavendish North Building, Ground Floor
Available:
Monday to Friday, 9.00 am to 9.00 pm
Saturday to Sunday, 10.00 am to 4.00 pm

See www.mmu.ac.uk/travel/manchester/ for campus maps.

Further Information